Travel G-spots

Strange Places, Strange Faces

.… I mean, that’s totally the reason to travel …

.

commuters1

Copyright Dutchblend – from Beauty and the Commuter blog post

.

I should totally have gone Petra “treasure hunting” at the treasury, Red Sea floating and what not one does in Jordan with Yogie beary bear. I am still recovering in my hotel room from the “strange places, strange faces” I had met and fended off alone over the course of the last few days. Interestingly, as I reflect to write this down, the “strange faces” a woman meets (or perceive to be “strange”) sits on the polar opposite of that a man meets – notwithstanding that my sample size is invalid – read: two (me + Yogie beary bear)

In any case, just so you know, Yogie beary bear was one of those who fitted the “strange places, strange faces” I had met… but not quite. Somehow, when the meeting takes place in my own ‘backyard’, I feel I have some home ground advantage. I feel safer.

Ha ha …

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Just some background on our first meeting to set the context:

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

 I recalled being ridiculed, discriminated and handed some downright rude insinuating remarks by the locals as we walked and explored the streets. One lady – a seed and fertiliser seller to be precise – asked me what my parents thought about my Indian national boyfriend.

In a strange way, I respected her.
At least she had the courage and directness, rather than the masses who chose to snigger or deliberately pass remarks that were within earshot as you walked away.

But her ill fate was, by the time she posed the question I had fended and pretended not to understand the remarks received throughout the day and was in the mood for some rebellion.

I simply told her we were both in medical school abroad and he’s financing my 1.5 million ringgit school fees … and boy oh boy! Her facial expression was a classic. If only she sold liquid nitrogen, I would have splashed it on her to freeze it and took a plaster of paris mould out of it. The earnest nods of approval that followed and her eagerness to please was legendary … and if I recalled she actually said he was a handsome bloke!

I wonder if … it was the fact that:
…..we were both doctors to be – a hugely regarded profession by most lay folks, or
…..I had positioned Yogie beary bear as someone who is flushed with cash
that brought about the change in attitude and mindset.

Nonetheless, I shared it with Yogie beary bear who had a a good laugh and said: “oh janoo… I’m sorry that they were mean”.

I guess we have over the years went beyond “strange places, strange faces” – thanks to the fact that neither regarded the other as “weird” or “potentially psychopathic”. But yes, I have met a lot of folks on the road while traveling solo which are only worth blogging about or bragging that one survived! as entertaining dinner conversation pieces.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

My “strange places, strange faces” …

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Interestingly, I don’t meet all that many interesting folks. Generally they fall into the following categories … and yes, I have just been reminded of this a few weeks back where I met most of the characters on the road.

ONE – the Cocoon Wives 
Malaysian families where the wives stares at me with disdain while the husbands has an awe of admiration for my courage and adventurous streak. Frankly, I would like to think their misty eyed 3-seconds too long lingering stares stops with the above and nothing more coz (though I would eventually get there), men exceeding a certain age is really unappealing to say the least!

TWO – the Spinsters
Older single women who thinks mostly that I want to leach on them for a free meal or company.

THREE – the Bosom Friend
Retired couples who feels obligated to protect me; often with the wife wanting to molly cuddle me close to their oversized and baby talcum powder smelling bosom (this excludes Malaysians – well, I figured you got it since Malaysians don’t normally have oversized bosom).

FOUR – the Flirts
Other single women travelers who feels compelled to impress and flirt with other single male travelers around.

FIVE – the Protracted Men
Annoying camera gear bearer who believes they are Steve McCurry and Joe McNally … their over bearing-ness is proportionate to the type and cost of gear they own as well as age, often giving me a quizzical, followed by cycnical look that translates to: “yeah right! She’s a girl .. common’ … she can’t shoot”

SIX – the upcoming Margaret Bourke White
Fellow women dSLR camera owners who elbows you to shoot every Goddamn thing with a standard lens set at “programme”.

SEVEN – the recent Divorcees
No comments. I keep my distance.
Ex-s, children and realities of the grind is the last topic I want to get into on a vacation, plus, I am one of those few women who does NOT carry loads of tissues with her.

EIGHT – the GEEK {not too bad} or Mr.Know-It-All-One-Man-Up
arrrrggghhhhhhhhhhHHHHHHHHHHHHH
(it does make me improve on my selective listening skills though)

NINE – the GAYS
I absolutely love them! … but there’s no point keeping in touch.
I can do the extremely sincere sobbing, “Thank you, I had a great time, I’ll miss you and love you” farewell without any loyalty expectations … coz that’s really what it is with me.

TEN – the 7 Year Itch
Older men. And I mean way older men with either wife caged at home, senile, dead … point is: better off without their old hag husbands.
These I am extremely wary about; one too many “no strings attached” convo has taught me a thing or two! And oh yeah, it does take a very deep pocket to afford me … silly old hags!

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Yogie beary bear’s “strange places, strange faces” …

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Darn – it’s truly not fair coz he gets rather interesting ones like these:

ONE – rockin’ {and sucking} GRANDMAs
A couch surfing grandmother who has visited 120 countries while preying on younger less experience travelers for expense paid trips!

TWO – the WIDE-DOE-eyes
Sweet, young things who’s “companionship” for lunch or a dessert costs > 10 times the normal bill.

THREE – the 55 Shades of Grey competitor
A woman who researchers for materials by seeking unconventional partners that would shock and spice up her next erotica novel where she describes their sexual exploits in lurid details.

FOUR – the BONG talkers
Many cosmic high hippies trapped in the 70s with amazing heroic tales.

FIVE – the BO{i}NG- kers
This does not need any explanations!

.

.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 4, 2013 by in My Musing and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 512 other followers

Follow Travel G-spots on WordPress.com
